THORP BOARD OF EDUCATION
2023 ANNUAL MEETING
MONDAY, OCTOBER 23, 2023
FLEX ROOM, THORP HIGH SCHOOL
605 SOUTH CLARK ST., THORP, WI
6:30 P.M.

The Annual Board Meeting of the Thorp Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 p.m. on Monday, October 23, 2023, by District Administrator, Angela Hanlin. Board Members present were Amy Penterman, Marie Karaba, Clint Klapatauskas and Jeanette Kodl. Absent Eric Werner.

Also, in attendance were Adrian Foster; 7-12 Principal, Kurt Rhyner Assistant Principal/Athletic Director, Elementary Principal Shaunna Schneider, and Brooke Rosemeyer district bookkeeper.

Introductions

Mrs. Hanlin introduced the Board of Education and the Administration Team.

State of the District

Mrs. Hanlin shared the district is in good financial status. Reviewed changes and improvements to the district including new reading curriculum in 4K - 12 as well as social studies curriculum grades 6 - 12. Reported growth in reading and math benchmark assessments. Reported on ACT and district report card.

Budget Hearing

President Marie Karaba called the meeting to order at 6:34 p.m.

District Administrator Hanlin reviewed the FY24 budget.

Kold read the treasurer's report and summary.

Motion to adjourn made by Penterman. Second by Klapatauskas. Voice Vote. All ayes. Meeting adjourned at 7:08 p.m.

Annual Meeting

President Karaba called the Annual Meeting to order at 7:08 p.m. Cheryl Broda nominates Marie Karaba as chairperson. Marie Karaba nominates Cheryl Broda as chairperson. Broda declined. Kurt Rhyner seconds nomination for Karaba. Voice vote. All ayes. Karaba is nominated as chairperson.

Reading of Minutes of last annual meeting:

Correction to the minutes Clint Klapatauskas was listed twice omitting Eric Werner. Correction to add Werner and delete the second Klapatauskas. Motion to approve amended minutes by Klapatauskas. Second by Kodl. Voice vote. All ayes. Motion carried.

Treasurer's Report

Motion was made by Klapatauskas to approve the treasurer's report with a second by Penterman. Voice vote. All ayes. Motion carried.

Resolution A: Adoption of Tax Levy

I hereby move that the School District of Thorp, Wisconsin levy a 2023 tax against the taxable property of the School District of Thorp, as presented in the proposed budget for operating and maintaining the schools for the ensuing year.

Be it further resolved that the School District of Thorp, Wisconsin levy a 2023 tax against the taxable property of the School District of Thorp, as presented in the proposed budget for retirement of long-term debt previously authorized, and for the payment of interest on such debt.

The total amount levied shall be \$2,399,794 with a mill rate of 6.23 pending final approval by the Board of Education per Klapatauskas with a second by Kodl. Voice vote. All ayes. Motion carried.

Resolution B: Set School Board Salaries for the Year

Motion by Penterman to freeze school board salaries for the 2023/2024 school year. Second by Klapatauskas. Voice vote. All ayes. Motion carried.

Resolution C: Reimbursement of School Board Member for Actual Expenses

A motion was made by Cheryl Broda to reimburse school board member expenses at the same mileage rate as school district employees and reimburse all other related actual costs as necessary with a second by Rhyner. Voice vote. All aye. Motion carried.

Resolution D: Approve the FY24 Annual Meeting Proposed Date

A motion was made by Klapatauskas to set the 2024 Annual meeting of the School District of Thorp on Monday October 28, 2024, at 6:30 p.m. in the Thorp High School Flex Room with a second by Foster. Voice Vote. All aye. Motion carried.

Resolution E: Authorize School Board to Set a Different Time and Date of FY24 Annual Meeting as Needed A motion was made by Hanlin to authorize the school board to set a different time and date as needed for the FY24 annual meeting with a second by Broda. Voice Vote. All Aye. Motion carried.

Motion to Adjourn

Penterman moves to adjourn the Annual Meeting with a second by Klapatauskas. Voice vote. All ayes. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 7:18 p.m.

Marie Karaba, Board President	Amy Penterman, Board Clerk